I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends.

I opened the door into my hotel room and the setting sun bled into the darkness. The bed was neatly made and on top of it sat a single Hershey’s kiss.  As I walked in, I closed the door behind me and the room turned completely black.  I fumbled around for a moment and finally found the light switch, inconveniently hidden behind the closed window curtains. Throwing back the curtains, the sunlight spilled in through the window and painted the far white wall a deep scarlet. I sighed and took off my pack. I showered, brushed my teeth and put on a shirt and shorts and then sat on the bed. Though there was a large TV off to the side, I didn’t bother to turn it on. Theres really nothing ever on that I can justify sitting and watching when I know I should be doing something more productive.  Though this hotel room was donated for free for my walk, I wasn’t feeling the greatest.

A few thousand miles away I knew that a bunch of my friends were meeting to have a bon-fire, grill meats, and sip their drinks in each other’s company. Though I’m happy to being doing this walk, its times like this when the threat of loneliness looms overhead. When there’s nothing to do and no one to talk to.  Thats when the miles between where I am and my home stretch farther than a measurable distance.  I can’t help but imagine all my friends laughing and telling stories… not a worry in the world. I gave another sigh and laid back on the bed, watching the sun set’s rays move slowly across the ceiling. My computer gave a small ring and notified me that I had just received a new email.  I heaved myself off the king size bed and walked over to my computer.  The message was from one my friends, one who would be drinking by the fire along side all my other friends back home. The message read, “Hey buddy! You are doing awesome. We wanted to keep you going, remind you of good times, and above all, to remember its all about love.”

Below the message was a link and I clicked on it. It brought me to a blank page with a small video player on the screen where I pressed the play button.  The 5 minute video started out with one of my favorite songs as my friend said his hellos. The remainder of the film included quite a few of my friends giving words of encouragement, but mostly just goofing around. They said since I was walking for love that they would do other things for love, including: cartwheeling for love, doing a handstand for love, hopping on one foot for love, and building a pyramid of people… for love. The video even featured guest appearances by two my little dogs and a minute and a half blooper reel.  I found myself ALOL’ing (Actually Laughing Out Loud) and a man passing by looked into my room’s window to see what was so funny.

When the video finished I stared at the screen for a few minutes, my smile still slapped across my face. I re-watched it three more times and laughed harder with every viewing. Sleep came easy that night and in the morning I felt refreshed and ready to go. As I began to get into my groove and started chipping away at my 26 mile day, I noticed my step had an extra bounce in it. I had no doubt in my mind that without my friends, both old and new, I would have most certainly not made it this far. The Fab Four had it right…

I get by with a little help from my friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under Story

Leave a Reply

